Kazeem Famuyide

10 Head-Scratching Facts About Rap And Hip-Hop At The Grammys


Arrested Development and Lauryn Hill are the only two Hip-Hop artists to ever win “Best New Artist”

The biggest crapshoot of the show is the “Best New Artist” category. Basically telling the world that these nominated artists are special ones to watch in the coming years are always a heavy burden to bare. Some people never even scratch the surface. Tone Loc, Kriss Kross, Diddy, Erykah Badu, 50 Cent, Kanye West, Drake, J.Cole, and Nicki Minaj have all been nominated for the award but all have lost.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11
Comment Comments: 3 Tags Tags: kanye west, jay-z, drake, lil wayne, 50 cent, t.i., nas

More Stories From Hip-Hop Wired

Leave a Comment

  • the Grammy’s have and always will be a joke. Just like the MTV awards. The same people win or people who don’t deserve to win get one. Its just a popularity contest.

    • Vandellish

      Thanks Nessa! I couldn’t have said it better…if you’re an artist who’s loved by your fans and you DON’T win a Grammy then it probably means you’re doing something right.

      Nice pic btw!