HipHopWired Featured Video

Nas and Damian Marley are making a formal announcement on their forthcoming Distant Relatives album.

The duo has combined forces for a conceptual album that blends the mix of Marley’s reggae roots and Nas’ lyrical skills with connections to their African ancestry.

Due in stores on May 18, the album features collaborations from K’Naan, Lil Wayne, Joss Stone and Damian’s older brother Stephen Marley.

Speaking on the duo’s upcoming project, Monte Lipman, President and CEO of Universal Republic Records says,

“Damian and Nas have made a groundbreaking album that combines the depth and vision of these two artists with a seminal musical and cultural thread of multiple generations. We’re thrilled to play a role on what’s certain to be another pivotal album f or both artists and one of the more unique collaborative efforts in recent years.”

Nas and Damian “Jr. Gong” Marley plan to hit the road following the release of their album, including stops at Bonnaroo and the Heineken Opener Festival in Poland.

Before going on tour they’ll hit SXSW on March 17th and give two performances in South Florida at ULTRA on March 27th and SUNFEST on May 2nd.

The tracklisting for Nas and Damian Marley’s Distant Relatives album is below.

1. As We Enter

2. Tribal War (featuring K’NAAN)

3. Strong Will Continue

4. Leaders (featuring Stephen Marley)

5. Wisdom

6. Count Your Blessings

7. Dispear

8. The Promised Land (featuring Dennis Brown)

9. In His Own Words (featuring Stephen Marley)

10. Nah Mean

11. Friends

12. My Generation (featuring Lil Wayne and Joss Stone)

13. Africa Must Wake Up (featuring K’NAAN