HipHopWired Featured Video

Johnson Sirleaf, Gbowee, Karman Win Nobel Peace Prize

This year’s Noble Peace Prize is being awarded to three women’s rights activists.

Announced on Friday, activist Tawakkul Karman of Yemen, Liberian President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf and activist Leymah Gbowee of Liberia will share the award.

CNN reports:

They were chosen “for their nonviolent struggle for the safety of women and for women’s rights to full participation in peace-building work,” the committee said in Oslo, Norway.

“We cannot achieve democracy and lasting peace in the world unless women obtain the same opportunities as men to influence developments at all levels of society.”

The Noble Peace Prize is awarded annually to the person who “shall have done the most or the best work for fraternity between nations, for the abolition or reduction of standing armies and for the holding and promotion of peace congresses.”