HipHopWired Featured Video

We slept on Chance The Rapper around these parts, but it didn’t take long to become believers upon hearing his stellar project Acid Rap.

At just 19-years-old, the south side Chicago native is admittedly a product of his environment, but greatly differs from the other talent to seep out his hometown. A lot of of which can be credited to his ability to create dialogue around the currently violent, and albeit turbulent, culture plaguing the Windy City.

In other words, one could argue that the young MC’s opinions have more validity than reprimands from cranky, old-head rappers who are out of touch, because he spits about about a world he inhabits daily. This also gives him the upper hand among peers.

Chance relies on strong lyrics, a dexterous wordplay and a natural knack of infusing his rhymes with melody to get his point across. Accomplished artists like Ab-Soul, Action Bronson, BJ The Chicago Kid, Twista and Childish Gambino are some of the names featured on this project.

See the tracklist and download link for Acid Rap below, and catch Chance on Mac Miller’s “The Space Migration” tour this summer.

1. Good Ass Intro (Feat. BJ The Chicago Kid)

2. Pusha Man (Feat. Nate Fox & Lili K)

3. Cocca Butta Kisses (Feat. Twista & Vic Mensa)

4. Juice

5. Lost (Feat. Noname Gypsy)

6. Everybody’s Something (Feat. BJ The Chicago Kid & Saba)

7. Interlude (That’s Love)

8. Favorite Song (Feat. Childish Gambino)

9. NaNa (Feat. Action Bronson)

10. Smoke Again (Feat. Ab-Soul)

11. Acid Rain

12. Chain Smoker

13. Good Ass Intro

Download Mixtape

Photo: Spin Magazine