HipHopWired Featured Video

The 45th NAACP Image Awards are taking place on February 22 and they are centering around a tribute Oprah Winfrey is scheduled to give the late Nelson Mandela.

Via Deadline:

That news came along with a list of the second group of presenters confirmed to participate at the February 22 awards. Idris Elba, Vin Diesel, Terry Crews, Nia Long, Naomie Harris, Morris Chestnut, Chadwick Boseman, Tyrese Gibson, Ed Asner, and Ben Vereen will join previously announced Lupita Nyong’o, Tyler Perry, Michael Ealy, Tony Goldwyn, Arsenio Hall, Regina Hall, Octavia Spencer, Archie Panjabi, Dennis Haysbert, Rickey Smiley, Nicole Beharie, and Lou Gossett Jr.

Few people dead or alive measure up to Oprah’s qualifications to be able to honor the recently deceased South Africa freedom fighter on a grand scale. In 2001, she conducted an interview watched by millions as she uncovered numerous truths and allowed his side of the story to be revealed to the entire world.

She was also amongst the thousands in attendance at Mandela’s funeral service following his death in early December.

Anthony Anderson will host star-studded event and it will broadcast live from the Pasadena Civic Auditorium on TV One.

Photo: Louise Gubb/OWN