HipHopWired Featured Video

The DC Comics movie universe has been forming since Zack Snyder‘s 2013 Superman reboot Man Of Steel. In 2017, one of the comic line’s most beloved characters and a collection of powerful allies will have their own films as well.

Warner Bros. dropped the news yesterday afternoon on the heels of the recent Marvel Studios announcement regarding Captain America 3. The Warner studios made public its film schedule for the next few years, and many of the DC Comics’ top titles will have big screen adaptations in the near future including Wonder Woman and Justice League.

More from Screencrush:

There’s a lot of news here, but let’s get right to it… ‘Suicide Squad‘ will be the first DC movie released after ‘Batman vs. Superman‘ in the summer of 2016. ‘Wonder Woman‘ and ‘Justice League’ have both been announced for 2017 release dates. Following in 2018 will be ‘Aquaman‘ starring Jason Momoa and ‘The Flash‘ starring the just-announced Ezra Miller (‘The Perks of Being a Wallflower’). (It’s unclear at this point if Miller will be part of ‘Justice League‘ or ‘Batman vs. Superman’ but we’ll assume he will be.)

‘Shazam‘ (starring The Rock as Black Adam) will hit theaters in 2019 along with ‘Justice League 2.’ Also, in the works but with no set release date are a Cyborg movie, a ‘Green Lantern‘ reboot and new standalone Superman and Batman movies starring Henry Cavill and Ben Affleck.

The Wonder Woman title will introduce the demigod origin story of Princess Diana. No word on which characters will make the Justice League title but Henry Cavill and Ben Affleck as Superman and Batman respectively are signed on with Gia Gadot playing Wonder Woman.

Think that Warner Bros. has what it takes to compete with the Marvel Cinematic Universe? Let us know in the comments.

Photo: Twitter/@zacksnyder

HipHopWired Radio

Our staff has picked their favorite stations, take a listen...

The Latest Hip-Hop News, Music and Media | Hip-Hop Wired

Quick Links