HipHopWired Featured Video
Guardians of The Galaxy

Source: Square Enix / Eidos Montreal

Is Square Enix setting up its own version of MCU but in video game form? Based on what we just saw during the Square Enix Presents virtual presentation, it sure does look that way.

Sunday (Jun.13), Square Enix had the daunting task of following up Xbox and Bethesda’s fantastic showcase, and while they didn’t have 30 games to show off, Square Enix had the Marvel trump card to play plus some other strong announcements.

Square Enix didn’t save the best for last at all during its presentation. The studio opened things up by showing off Eidos Montreal’s brand new game, Marvel’s Guardians of The Galaxy, honestly a pleasant surprise no one saw coming.

Guardians of The Galaxy

Source: Square Enix / Eidos Montreal

Like Marvel’s Avengers that also had its own announcement that we will touch on in a bit, the game is not based on any of the Disney/Marvel Studios films and will have its own fresh story.

The game is a single-player campaign adventure. Players will take on the role of Star-Lord, aka Peter Quill, and will be able to issue commands to Gamora, Drax, Groot, and Rocket during battles, but you can’t play as them during missions. The game will also feature a dialogue component where Peter’s decisions will affect the game.

Guardians of The Galaxy

Source: Square Enix / Eidos Montreal

Like in the film’s Peter’s love for music, specifically hits from the 80s, will play a big part in the game while you are dispatching enemies across the galaxy using all of Star-Lord’s powers and unique fighting skills.

Another huge surprise is that the game will be coming out this year, October 26, 2021, to be exact. So mark your calendars and stay tuned cause we are sure Square Enix will share more information about the game.

On the Marvel’s Avengers front, we didn’t really get a deep dive on the game, but we know that the next event will be called the Cosmic Cube villain event next week and will focus on the Scientist Supreme mythical cube that looks a lot like the Tesseract. But that’s not what was really important. We got a better look and even more backstory about the upcoming Black Panther: War fo Wakanda expansion, and the best part is that it is FREE and will arrive in August.

Also shown off during the event, Life is Strange: True Colors, Forspoken, Hitman Sniper: The Shadows, Babylon’s Fall, Stranger of Paradise Final Fantasy Origins, and more.

You can step into all of the trailers in the gallery below and keep it locked on Hip-Hop Wired for more E3 2021 coverage.

Photo: Square Enix / Eidos Montreal

1. BABYLON’S FALL | E3 2021 Trailer

BABYLON’S FALL from Square Enix is developed in partnership with renowned action specialists, PlatinumGames Inc., (NieR: Automata™). Featuring fluid co-op-combat, powerful weapons, and a unique, striking art style, the epic world of BABYLON’S FALL is coming to the PlayStation®5 (PS5™) console, PlayStation 4, and STEAM. The game can be played in co-op online multiplayer for parties up to four and will feature a range of post-launch game modes at no additional cost.

2. Life is Strange: True Colors | Power and Consequence

In March, the latest entry in the Life is Strange series was revealed: Life is Strange: True Colors, a small-town supernatural mystery.

Brought to life through full performance capture by rising talent Erika Mori, players will navigate Haven Springs as Alex Chen, a young woman who has long suppressed her ‘curse’: the psychic power of Empathy, a supernatural ability that allows her to experience, absorb and influence the strong emotions of others – which she sees as blazing, colored auras. When her brother dies, in a suspicious accident, Alex must at last embrace her volatile power to find the truth, and uncover the dark secrets buried by a small town. Alex Chen’s journey, power, and future are all fully under the player’s control.

The psychic power of Empathy affects every interaction and relationship Alex has in the game and is fully under the player’s control. Use it to reveal the secrets of Haven Springs, the hidden facets of Alex’s past, and the future of her journey to find a place to call home.

3. Life is Strange Remastered Collection | Official Trailer – E3 2021

The Life is Strange Remastered Collection includes ‘Life is Strange Remastered’ and ‘Life is Strange: Before the Storm Remastered’.

Both award-winning games have been remastered with updated visuals across characters & environments.

Featuring the following remastered upgrades: 

  • Remastered visuals across characters and environments 
  • Vastly improved character animation using full facial mocap performance *featured in Life is Strange Remastered only*
  • Updated and refined gameplay puzzles


FINAL FANTASY VII REMAKE veterans Tetsuya Nomura and Kazushige Nojima join forces with Team NINJA from KOEI TECMO GAMES to deliver a bold new vision for FINAL FANTASY.
Get your first look at STRANGER OF PARADISE FINAL FANTASY ORIGIN. Coming to PlayStation 5, PlayStation 4, Xbox Series X|S, Xbox One, and PC in 2022. With the memory of their struggle buried deep in their hearts… Jack and his allies, Ash and Jed, burn with resolve to defeat Chaos as they throw open the gates to the Chaos Shrine. Yet doubts remain—are they truly the Warriors of Light the prophecy foretold? 
Step into a world of dark fantasy and revel in the exhilarating, action-packed battles! Trial version available on PlayStation 5 until June 24th, 2021.

5. Hitman Sniper: The Shadows | E3 World Premiere Trailer

Hitman Sniper: The Shadows introduces a wholly original story set in the Hitman Universe. The game focuses on events following the disappearance of Agent 47 and follows the story of The Shadows, a group of highly skilled snipers – Soji, Kiya, Kolzak, Knight, and Stone – within the hidden world of assassination, where a new criminal network threatens global stability. Diana Burnwood and the International Contract Agency (ICA) activate Initiative 426, aka The Shadows, to eliminate this threat.

Hitman Sniper: The Shadows is a free-to-play game set to be released in 2021 on iOS and Android. More exciting updates will be revealed later this year.