HipHopWired Featured Video

With a new year comes new music, or in this case old music that’s new to the public. Either way, fans will appreciate Dust Ruffle (Songs I Found Under My Bed), a 10 track compilation from Jean Grae featuring unreleased tracks spanning from 2004-2010. The Brooklyn MC’s musical output has vexed Hip-Hop lovers since she hit the scene. It’s a wonder that these tracks are seeing the light of day, we’re not complaining.

This project has sort of a therapeutic meaning for the “Kill Screen” wordsmith. “Dust Ruffle is such an interesting retrospective project, because I get to actually hear myself evolve from 2004-2010. Snapshots of life,” Grae tweeted. Considering this, fans can hear each track in context to where Jean Greasy was at in her life at that point in time it was created.

Planet Asia and Sadat X are the lone MCs to appear on the project.

Dust Ruffle is the first project of a slew set to release in 2013. Jean Grae recently announced the creation of a new multimedia company, Kids Are Gonna Die (KAGD), and a partnership with the existing W.A.R. Media (Pharoahe Monch‘s label) that will usher in the impending release of her sixth and seventh albums, Gotham Down and Cake Or Death.

Dust Ruffle is available to stream for free but can be purchased over at Jean Greasy’s Bandcamp page.

Photo: Black Enterprise