Ghostface Killah x Apollo Brown Twelve Reasons To Die: The Brown Tape 4.22.2013 (Soul Temple Music)

Originally, Apollo Brown’s remix version of the Adrian Younge x Ghostface Killah Twelve Reasons To Die project was to be included as part of a limited edition package and not released as a separate project. The demand for the remix album was so great from fans that Soul Temple Music made it possible to purchase on it’s own via their Bandcamp. Physical versions of The Brown Tape will be available for purchase on May 28th and you can pre-order them now from Soul Temple Music. Arise from your slumber.


The Procussions – The Procussions EP 4.24.2013 (Bandcamp)

Mr. J. Medeiros & Stro Elliot are back together recording as The Procussions. For those that are unaware, The Procussions released three extremely well received and critically acclaimed projects (As Iron Sharpens Iron, Up All Night & 5 Sparrows For 2 Cents) between 2003 and 2006 before they broke up and went solo. I’ve throughly enjoyed the albums and music released by them individually over the past 7 years but when they announced they were going to make more music as a unit again I had high expectations. If this is any indication of what to expect from them in the future then I can’t wait for the full length project to drop.  You can stream and cop The Procussions EP from The Procussions Bandcamp right now.


Koncept x Deejay Element – Malt Disney EP 4.30.2013 (SoulSpazm)

Koncept and Deejay Element of the Brown Bag All Stars made a collaborative EP called Malt Disney. Koncept’s sharp bars over Deejay Element’s bangers makes for concise 6 track project devoid of a weak moment or any skippable material. Koncept is aided by Tanya Morgan, REKS and Akie Berniss in bodying Deejay Element’s impressive sonics. You can procure Malt Disney from iTunes, Amazon, SoulSpazm or stream it from AudioMack. It’s not to be slept on…




K-Def – The Exhibit 4.30.2013 (Redefinition Records)

Legendary production wizard K-Def already blessed us with impressive instrumental opus One Man Band earlier this year but he’s back again with The Exhibit. While his previous release was devoid of samples and consisted of nothing but replayed slaps or live instrumentation this 13 track collection goes back to sample based beats. While this is an instrumental release, it opens with a couple of tracks containing vocals from Blu, Quartermaine (Low Budget Crew) and Seven Shawn (World Renown). You can acquire The Exhibit via iTunes, Amazon, UGHH, Fat Beats or directly from Redefinition Records.


R.A. The Rugged Man – Legends Never Die 4.30.2013 (Nature Sounds)

Rhyme veteran R.A. The Rugged Man’s (Die! Rugged Man Die!) career goes back almost 20 years to when he was known as Crustified Dibbs. Since then he’s bodied numerous guest appearances and released a gang of classic singles but his debut solo album Die! Rugged Man Die! dropped almost a decade ago back in 2004. After several different stints as a writer, boxing analyst, film critic in addition to touring, R.A. is back with a new album. Legends Never Die features production from Buckwild, Ayatollah, Marco Polo, Will Tell, Mr. Green, Apathy, Shuko and more. Guest appearances come courtesy Talib Kweli, Masta Ace, Sadat X (Brand Nubian), Vinnie Paz (Jedi Mind Tricks), Brother Ali and Tech N9ne amongst others. R.A. The Rugged is every bit as lyrically sharp as he was 15 years ago, actually he’s probably gotten even better. Legends Never Die is available right now on iTunes, Amazon, Fat Beats, UGHH or cop a limited edition bundle direct from Nature Sounds. Do it now…


While You Were Sleeping will be back in a few weeks to enlighten you all about the best releases in underground & independent Hip-Hop/Rap. Until then, this is Dart Adams saying “Don’t sleep”.



« Previous page 1 2 3