HipHopWired Featured Video

Lecrae is back with new rhymes on Church Clothes 2, a sequel to his critically acclaimed 2012 mixtape. Hosted by DJ Don Cannon, this is the Houston-born MC’s first project since his Grammy-winning album Gravity.

Lecrae provides a worthy listening experience with 17 new tracks of righteousness. However, unlike other religious wordsmiths, he manages to do so without coming across as overly preachy or holier than thou. In fact, it’s his ability to communicate in the most human way possible that makes his music refreshing.

This time around, Lecrae called on a list of fellow rappers and known producers for assistance. Listeners can expect B.o.B, Paul Wall, King Mez, Novel, Kevin Ross and more as guest features. As far as beat selection goes, folks like Boi-1da, David Banner, K.E. On the Track, DJ Burn One, and more contributed.

The leading single was “I’m Turnt,” a song donning a club friendly sound that’ll be familiar to radio listeners and a juxtaposing stance on what it means to be energetic in a party environment.

Hear that and more on Lecrae’s Church Clothes 2, which you can stream and download below. Give us your thoughts in the comments section.

1. “Co-Sign PT. 2”

2. “Believe”

3. “Devil In Disguise” ft. Kevin Ross

4. “The Fever” ft. Andy Mineo & Papa San

5. “I’m Turnt”

6. “Let It Whip” ft. Paul Wall

7. “Sell Out”

8. “Lost My Way” f. King Mez & Daniel Day

9. “Misconception” PART. 2 ft. W.L.A.K.

10. “Round of Applause” ft. B.o.B.

11. “Was It Worth It” ft. Derek Minor & Crystal Nicole

12. “Bun B Speaks”

13. “Finer Things” ft. Tedashii

14. “Hands Up” ft. Propaganda

15. “My Whole Life Changed”

16. “If I Die Tonight” ft. Novel

17. “Hang On”

Photo: Grammy