HipHopWired Featured Video

Talent and upside alone have made young wordsmith Vic Mensa worthy of a listen or two. The only deterrent was the former Kid These Days frontman’s lack of solo material, but that changes today with the release of his long-awaited INNANETAPE.

This project comes courtesy of ILLROOTS and follows a list of previously released jams like “Orange Soda,” “YNSP,” and “Time Is Money.” And not to mention a stellar verse on his Save Money brethren Chance The Rapper’s “Cocoa Butter Kisses.”

The 14-song track list doesn’t resemble a body of work by an unsigned artist. Guest appearances include Chance, Jesse Boykins III, Rockie Fresh, Ab-Soul, BJ The Chicago Kid and more. There’s also production from Boi-1da, Cam of J.U.S.T.I.C.E. League, DJ Dahi (Drake’s “Worst Behavior and “Kendrick Lamar’s “Money Trees”), and Hit-Boy.

A body of work donning such a stellar list of contributors warrants a listen. Also, Vic Mensa can straight up spit if you didn’t know. Don’t believe us? See for yourself via INNANETAPE below.

1.Welcome to INNANET

[produced by Vic Mensa, add. prod. Cam for J.U.S.T.I.C.E. League & Peter Cottontale]

2. Orange Soda

[Prod. by Cam for J.U.S.T.I.C.E. League]

3. Lovely Day

[Prod. by Vic Mensa & Peter Cottontale]

4. Tweakin’ ft. Chance The Rapper

[Prod. by Michael Uzowuru]

5. FUN! (Interlude)

6. Magic ft. Jesse Boykins III

[Prod. by Peter Cottontale]

7. Time Is Money ft. Rockie Fresh

[Prod. by Boi-1nda & The Maven Boys]

8. YNSP ft. Eliza Doolittle

[Prod. by DJ Dahi]

9. Hollywood LA ft. Lili K

[Prod. by Cam for J.U.S.T.I.C.E. League & Tae Beast]

10. Holy Holy ft. Ab-Soul & BJ The Chicago Kid

[Prod. by Cam for J.U.S.T.I.C.E. League, add. prod. Peter Cottontale & Om’Mas Keith]

11. Fear & Doubt ft. Kenna & Joey Purp

[Prod. by Christian Rich]

12. Yap Yap

[Prod. by Michael Uzowuru]

13. RUN! ft. Thundercat

[Prod. by Vic Mensa & Peter Cottontale, add. prod. Om’Mas Keith]

14. That Nigga

[Prod. by Hit-Boy]


Photo: Save Money