HipHopWired Featured Video

As the release date for The Grimy Awards draws near, Ill Bill provides another sampling from the project with “Truth.” The track features masterful production from none other than Soul Brother #1, Pete Rock. “Truth” picks up where “Severed Heads Of State” left off, with the Brooklyn rapper-producer spitting self-coined “mathematical goon rap” over smoothly chopped sample.

The Grimy Awards, due out February 26 on Uncle Howie/Fat Beats, features a who’s who list of legendary producers ranging from the aforementioned Pete Rock to DJ Premier, El-P, DJ Muggs, Large Professor, Ayatollah and others. The 17 tracks project dons equally impressive guest appearances, including contributions from Mayhem Lauren, A-Trak, Cormega, OC and more.

If Ill Bill looks to make his way back into the limelight, a line up this strong greatly heightens his chances.

Fans can stream “Truth” below and pre-order The Grimy Awards here. It drops February 26.

1. What Does It All Mean? prod. by ILL BILL

2. Paul Baloff prod. by MoSS

3. I Don’t Know How Long It’s Gonna Last

4. Acceptance Speech feat. A-Trak, prod. by Junior Makhno

5. Truth prod. by Pete Rock

6. Exploding Octopus prod. by ILL BILL

7. Forty Deuce Hebrew feat. HR of Bad Brains, prod. by ILL BILL

8. How To Survive The Apocalypse prod. by Psycho Les

9. Vio-Lence feat. Shabazz The Disciple & Lil Fame of M.O.P., prod. by DJ Skizz

10. Acid Reflux prod. by Large Professor

11. L’Amour East feat. Meyhem Lauren & Q-Unique, prod. by Ayatollah

12. Power feat. OC & Cormega, prod. by DJ Muggs

13. When I Die feat. Tia Thomas, prod. by Pete Rock

14. Severed Heads feat. El-P, prod. by El-P

15. 120% Darkside Justice feat. Jedi Mind Tricks, prod. by C-Lance

16. Canarsie High prod. by Large Professor

17. World Premier prod. by DJ Premier

Photo: Mass Appeal