HipHopWired Featured Video

Jive Records’ singer/songwriter and Grammy nominated artist, Raheem Devaughn is set to make his highly anticipated return to music.

While keeping to his patent formula of rich love songs, Devaughn’s album will also provide social commentary on the recession, the war on terror, global warming and the tragedy in Haiti hence the name The Love and And War MasterPeace.

Speaking on the name for the project, Raheem says that the album is ultimately about trying to find the peace and happiness in trying times.

“I named the album “The Love and War MasterPeace” because I feel that where I am as a person and where we are as a people, we are all trying to master that internal peace and happiness in a very strange time. “

Joining the soulful crooner is Scholar Dr. Cornel West who weighs in on several interludes and uses his expertise in progressive politics, jazz and justice to provide rich commentary for the album.

The album also features collaborations from Ludacris, Damien Marley, Jill Scott, Bilal, Anthony Hamilton, Ledisi, Christte Michelle and fellow D.C. ambassador Wale.

The Love & War MasterPeace Tracklist:

1. Dr. West (Interlude)

2. Bulletproof featuring Ludacris (Produced by Kenny Dope)

3. The Greatness featuring Wale (Produced by Kenny Dope)

4. I Don’t Care (Produced by Stereotypes/Co-Produced by Ne-Yo)

5. Black & Blue (Produced by Ronnie “Lil Ronnie” Jackson)

6. Mr. Right (Produced by Ivan “Orthodox” Barias & Carvin “Ransum” Haggins

7. Dr. West (Interlude)

8. Fragile featuring Malik Yusef (Produced by Kenny Dope)

9. My Wife (Produced by Kenny Dope)

10. B.O.B. (Produced by Big Bob, Symfoniz & Jerry Juke Vines)

11. Bedroom (Produced by Kenny Dope)

12. Microphone (Produced by Ronnie “Lil Ronnie” Jackson)

13. Garden of Love (Produced by Kenny Dope)

14. Dr.West (Interlude)

15. Nobody Wins a War featuring Jill Scott, Bilal, Anthony Hamilton, Algebra, Chrisette Michele, Shelby Johnson, Ledisi, Citizen Cope, Dwele, Chico DeBarge and Rudy Currence (Produced by Kenny Dope)

16. Revelations 2010 featuring Damien Marley (Produced by Kenny Dope)

There will also be a special 2-disc deluxe version of The Love And War MasterPeace available with seven additional songs.

1. Dr. West (Interlude)

2. Wing & a Prayer featuring Bun B (Produced by Jamil “Face” Johnson)

3. Dr. West (Interlude)

4. Super Hero (featuring Produced by Sound of the City Music Group)

5. Soldier’s Story (Produced by Kenny Dope)

6. Dr. West (Interlude)

7. Hopeless Romantic (Produced by Kenny Dope)

8. Lose Control featuring Phil Ade’ (Produced by Kenny Dope)

9. Calling Me (Produced by DeAndre’ “Dre King” Shaifer)

10.XOXO (Produced by Ronnie “Lil Ronnie” Jackson)

11. Dr. West (Interlude)

The lead single from the project is “Bulletproof” featuring Ludacris.

The video for “Bulletproof” is below.

The Latest Hip-Hop News, Music and Media | Hip-Hop Wired

Quick Links